I GOT THIS recipe from Cupcakes and Crinoline, I can’t WAIT to make them, YUM!  And yes, I do think this cupcake could be for breakfast—I’m with ya girl!  Thanks for this awesome recipe!!!

Oatmeal Cupcakes with Strawberry Filling

by mb on March 23, 2009

oatmeal-strawberry-muffin_edited-1

Cupcake Monday Cupcake Monday Cupcake Monday

Today’s cupcake is so yummy…I consider it more of a “breakfast cupcake” because it contains fruit {preserves}, yogurt and oatmeal. {If you agree with me, please have a talk with my husband…he just does not get the “breakfast cupcake” approach to this!}


{This is another recipe form Cupcakes Galore}

Strawberry-Filled Oatmeal Cupcakes

Makes:  12 cupcakes

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup sour cream {I substituted non-fat plain yogurt – I didn’t have enough sour cream on hand}

12 teaspoons strawberry jelly {on of my son’s has an allergy to strawberries so I used grape jelly in 2 of the cupcakes…it was also delicious!}

Oatmeal Crunch Topping

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup light brown sugar

2 heaping tablespoons all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup chilled unsalted butter cut into little pieces

1.  Put all of the topping ingredients in a food processor and process until lumps form.  Set aside {I don’t have a full-size processor and my mini one worked just as well}

topping

2.  Preheat oven to 350° F.

3.  Mix dry ingredients together and set aside.

4.  In the large bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and mix well.  Alternately add dry ingredients and sour cream, blending well after each addition.

5.  Spoon half of the batter into 12 cupcake papers.  Make an indentation and place 1 teaspoon of jelly in each cupcake.  Fill cupcakes with remaining batter.  Using your fingers, sprinkle a little topping over each cupcake.  Cook for 20 to 25 minutes or until cupcakes are golden brown on top.  Remove from oven and cool.

fillingready-for-oven

breakfast {because I say so} cupcake hugs!  mb


