“You may say that, I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one…” as so elequently stated in the song, Imagine… that is actually the ringtone to my cell phone.  I dream, and I’m okay with that.  And, if you’re like me, you may have dreamed of having a business of your own.  I know it’s a lot of work, but if there’s passion behind it, think of the reward!  Am I guaranteed to succeed?  No… but if I don’t try, I will wonder for the rest of my life…  So as I’ve begun to research a bit…okay, if you haven’t realized by now, I’m a bit of a reasearch geek.  If I’m going to embark on something (marriage, parenthood, cleaning, organizing, crafting, gardening…you get the point), I’m going to reasearch it to death.  And so, with that said, here is a good starting point.  I have begun to read, What No One Ever Tells You About Starting Your Own Business, by Jan Norman, I thought she had a good business plan layout.  She says it is essential to a successful business to have a plan, just as I would say would be so for any venture in life—even just a DAILY plan makes the day more successful in itself.  And so, with that, here are here tips on what to include in your plan:

Make a Plan

What the Business is

-Its operations

-What the company does

-The distinctiveness of its products or services

How its goods and services are marketed:

-company’s potential customers

-how to reach them

-evaluate direct and indirect competition

-the company’s competitive advantages

-industry trends & how the company will lead them

Financial analysis

-Books, trade association publications, surveys and studies contain financial information about similar companies than can serve as a guide.

-How much money the company needs

-How the money will be used

-How the company will repay the loan or compensate investors.

-The company’s system for maintaining financial and other records

-Start up costs

-Five year plans

-Insurance concerns

Line up plenty of cash and credit lines before starting your business because you may not be able to get them later.

Security measures

-Inventory control

